Both the Avon Tyres Caterham Superlight R400 and the Power Torque Superlight R300 Championships head to Spa-Francorchamps this weekend for double headers that will go a long way to deciding the respective titles.

Dan Denis from Midhurst West Sussex leads the way in the senior category with a 12 point lead over both Peter Ratliff and Simon Young, with veteran Graham Tilley just a further point behind.

Meanwhile in the Power Torque R300 Championship the drivers will be having their own ‘Battle of the Bulge’ at the spectacular Ardennes circuit as the top five drivers are separated by just 11 points. James Sharrock and Paul Wilson are tied at the top of the standings with 126 points, closely tailed by Jonny Leroux and Jonathan Walker both on 123. Also still in contention with 115 points is Matt Draper, who led the championship up until the Anglesey double header where a DNF and a 12th place finish saw him slip down to fifth.

Lining up on the R300 grid for the first time will be Tony Bennett in a newly built car by DPR Motorsport. Tony came into motorsport through the Caterham Academy and then moved up through the ladder into Roadsport B and then Roadsport A. Clearly enthusiastic Tony said “Having a brand new R300 available for Spa is by far the most exciting opportunity that I have experienced in my Caterham racing to date – I can’t wait to get going!” DPR Motorsport Team Manager David Rowe said: "DPR Motorsport built the first customer-supplied R300 almost a year ago. This car won all three Donington invitation races, including a first outright win for an R300 in the Pit-Stop challenge. More recently this car had two convincing wins at Anglesey and is leading the 2009 championship. We have built Tony Bennett's car to the same race-winning standard and are pleased that our pre-race testing has demonstrated similar performance potential and such positive customer feedback.”


Race Entries
& Membership