The BRSCC’s North Western Centre took charge of a very special meeting at Anglesey on 23rd & 24th September when the circuit celebrated the 25th anniversary of the first race at the Welsh track. This was for motorcycles therefore it was appropriate the Wirral 100 club arranged for a couple guest races for two-wheeled machines to be added to the programme.

There was another reason that this was an important meeting as it marked the end of the Britcover National Formula Ford 1600 Championship with Avon Tyres where the prize of a place on the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200k Scholarship Shootout was up for grabs.

Luke Williams clinched the National FF1600 title and booked his place on the Mazda Road To Indy Shootout! – Photo: Rachel Bourne

After a hard-fought season, Firman driver Luke Williams had a points advantage that made him favourite to take the title. He was third in the opening race of the weekend which was won by the Swift of Luke Cooper who has ended the season on great form. As the second placed driver, Joey Foster, was running as a guest in his Ray this meant Williams was the runner-up as far as the points allocation was concerned.

Race 2 of the Triple Header was not so good for Williams. When yellow flags appeared just as he was taking a corner it took him by surprise and caused a spin – he finished down in fourteenth. Foster took the victory, from Josh Smith in the Oldfield Motorsport Van Diemen and Cooper.

The partially reversed grid for race 3 meant Jake Byrne was the early leader but he was reeled in and demoted by Smith and Foster. Williams, meanwhile, was classified ninth, taking the title and picking up his ticket to the Shootout in Arizona in the process.

Alongside the concluding National rounds, there was more Formula Ford action in the shape of the Avon Tyres Northern Championship. The Double Header for that series gave Smith, who was making his seasonal debut for the Oldfield Motorsport squad, further opportunity to shine.

He finished second to the B-M Racing Medina Sport of Matt Round-Garrido in the opening encounter and then won the second despite having to stage a fight back when he spun off the track on the run down to the first corner. Round-Garrido was unfortunately given a drive through penalty for the incident despite later proving his innocence when the onboard footage was reviewed. Despite this unnecessary delay, he still managed to finish second. Rory Smith completed the podium on both occasions.

The leader of the Post89 section of Northern Championship, Luciano Carvalho, was running second in race 1 but brake failure on the final lap sent his Van Diemen into the barriers at The Corkscrew. He came through from the back of the grid to finish fifth in race 2.

Carvalho’s UCLAN Racing team mate, Jaap Blijleven, twice finished fifth overall in his Pre90 Reynard – winning his class and claiming the title with 2 rounds at Oulton Park remaining. An accolade he has worked for many years to achieve.

The Fiesta of Michael Heath won the first of three Electrovape.co.uk XR Challenge thrashes from Mark Robinson with Michael Blackburn upholding Escort honours in third. For race 2 on Sunday morning the track was very wet. These conditions suited Blackburn and he particularly excelled at Rocket where he overtook first Robinson and then Heath to take the win.

In the third encounter, it was Robinson who had the most pace. He got ahead of Heath who later spun at The Corkscrew and then overtook Blackburn at the same corner. While Heath was re-joining the track, Steve Poole came through to take the final place on the podium in his Fiesta.

The Fun Cup drivers had no less than 6 hours of racing on Saturday. This was split into two contests with the last of these running in the evening and ending at 11 pm. Unusually, despite being staged in darkness, there were no Safety Car periods in the latter event. Whether they raced in the day-time or night-time, the Track Torque 2Rent Dominoes team came out on top while the DespatchBay.com and JPR Uvio cars took turns at finishing second and third.

The brace of motorcycle races were for the Formula 600 category. Simon Napier and Jamie Harris duelled at the front of the pack and took a win apiece. Josh Jones and Chris Eden were the riders who completed the podiums.

The BRSCC would like to thank the marshals and officials for their help and endurance during the course of this meeting as Anglesey served up its full repertoire of weather.

You can view the full results at ANGLESEY RESULTS


Race Entries
& Membership