It was cause for celebration this past Saturday evening in Nottingham as the best and brighest of Caterham Motorsport congregated for their annual Awards Dinner. The evening was hosted by Caterham’s very own Simon Lambert and Abi Hay, after an opening address from Caterham CEO turned racing driver Graham MacDonald.

In the regular championship awards, 2017’s CAR Magazine Caterham Academy champions received their trophies with Daniel French picking up honours for the Green Group and Andy Morgan doing the same for the White Group. For the Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsport Championship, Pete Walters was in good spirits as he picked up his champion’s trophy, as was Russ Olivant for the ALACO Motorsport Logistics Caterham Seven 270R Championship. In what turned out to be its last year, the final ITC Compliance Caterham Supersport Championship crown went to Mike Evans, while its replacement in the form of the ITC Compliance Caterham Seven 310R Championship would see its first champion in Lee Bristow. Finally, Danny Winstanley was confirmed as the Avon Tyres Caterham Seven 420R champion and also picked up a superb painting of his title winning car for his troubles too. Caterham’s French champions were also paid due deference on the night.

An additional award was the Paul Wilson Fastest Lap Trophy, in honour of the late Caterham racer who was a much loved figure up and down the paddock and a former champion. On this occasion, former multiple title winner Stephen Nuttall was given the honour of being the first driver to receive the accolade with 5 fastest laps throughout the 2017 season.

In one final twist to proceedings, the Caterham Motorsport administration dropped a shock announcement that a special Caterham Challenge Cup event will take place overseas. The location chosen for this special event would be none other than the legendary Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca at the end of the 2018 season. More information will be provided throughout next year.


Race Entries
& Membership