Doug Hart completed the double in the OSS Championship. Photo: SnappyRacers

Marking the furthest into a season without an event, the BRSCC South Eastern Centre got back into action on the weekend of 3rd and 4th August with the BRSCC Race Weekend on Brands Hatch's 1.199 mile Indy Circuit. This featured a 23-race programme of assorted sports car, single seater and saloon action. Following the record temperatures locally, thankfully it was a much cooler, but nevertheless sunny weekend.

Race 1 on the Saturday saw the BRSCC Mazda MX5 SuperCup runners take to the track for their first 20 minute encounter. Twyford's David Chapman converted pole into victory ahead of a battling Abbie Eaton and Andrew Clarkson. Chapman relinquished his car to team-mate Paul Sheard for the second outing, Sheard charging from the back of the grid to finish second behind Clarkson. Eaton spun out of the lead late on. Clint Bardwell took the final podium spot.

With Caterhams dominating the programme, it was Avon Tyres Roadsport Group C vs. A out next for another 20 minute race. A littering of cars around the circuit saw a late Safety Car intervention, with a frantic dash at the end. Reading's Pete Fortune headed home Hertford's Alex Gurr and Zoltan Csabai. Sunday's B vs. C race fell to Stockport's Stephen Nuttall ahead of Max Robinson and Mike Evans. The C vs. A qualifier saw the same top two, with Fortune in third.

Toyo Tires Porsche Championship runners had three 20-minute outings, Leeds man Rick Styrin claimed the first from Jonathan Greensmith and JM Littman, with the same first two in Sunday's second race. Steven Boyles took third.

Avon Caterhams returned for Race 4, a half-hour bash for Supersports. Typical wheel to wheel action ensued. Horndon on the Hill racer Lee Wiggins emerged victorious ahead of Steve Day and David Robinson. Robinson led Sunday's race until half distance before pitting, allowing Wiggins to take a second victory by inches from Sean Byrne. Mike Hart completed the top three.

Runcorn's Lee Morgan proved unbeatable in the first Formula Jedi 20-minute race ahead of James Machlachlan, with Dave Connor a distant third. Engine maladies while leading put paid to Morgan's chances of victory on Sunday, with Maclachlan also pulling off. Maidstone's Scott Stevens won from Matthew Ryder and Connor.

More single-seater action followed with the first of two 20-minute races for the Avon Tyres FF1600 Triple Crown. A demon last lap Paddock Hill Bend overtaking manoeuvre gave US racer Skylar Robinson victory in his Cliff Dempsey Ray GR08 ahead of fellow countryman Austin Kimberly. Luke Cooper tried to squeeze through, but rotated and had to settle for third. Kimberly took his revenge next time out, ahead of Cooper and Robinson.

Northwood's Michael Gazda and Upton Grey's Oliver Jarratt enjoyed an entertaining lead scrap in the first Avon Tyres Caterham Tracksport 30-minute race, Gazda lifting the spoils. Matt Dyer trailed in third. Gazda completed the pair on Sunday, with Dyer more than 20 seconds adrift. Paul Thacker was closer behind in third.

At the close of Saturday's racing, Doug Hart's Chiron comfortably won the first 20-minute BRSCC OSS Championship race from Juno-mounted Duncan Williams and Darren Luke. Williams slipped to third in Sunday's early race, with Tony Sinclair (Jade) a tad behind Hart. Williams spun out on the first lap of the third event. Sinclair got the better of Hart this time round, aided by a spin from Hart on the closing stages. Luke took another third.

Just racing on Sunday were the Teekay Couplings Production GTi cars. Knutsford's Simon Hill led home Martyn Walsh and Nick Jarvis at the end of the 20-minute encounter. Hill doubled up in Sunday's finale ahead of Nick Porter and Jarvis.

Also just providing entertainment on Sunday were the PistonHeads.com Caterham Academy runners. Group 2 was first out, with Leiston's William Smith coming home first after 15 minutes, ahead of Jack Sales and Lee Bristow. The first four in Group 1 was a commentator's nightmare – (Chris) Hutchinson, (Henry) Heaton, (James) Houston and (Nick) Horton!

We were pleased to welcome Peter Daly to the SE Centre clerking team alongside Bernard Cottrell and Derek Stanley, together with Andrew Rowe and Lynne Spurr, observing proceedings as part of the Club's Clerk of the Course training initiative. Thanks to officials who helped ensure the 23-race programme ran smoothly with very little down time.

Colin Mann

Full Results: Brands Hatch Data

The BRSCC SE Centre returns to Brands Hatch August 31/September 1 for another Club Car Championships weekend.


Race Entries
& Membership