Wes Fox was confirmed as the 2011 Roadsport Champion at Anglesey. Photo: Rick Wilson

The weather in Anglesey is unpredictable at any time of year and so it proved last weekend at the BRSCC North Western Centre meeting at the rugged island circuit. There were occasional periods of bright sunshine but wet and windy conditions predominated.

However, there was nothing the strong gusts could do to to stop Caterham Roadsport leader Wes Fox from claiming the title – two race wins saw to that. Saturday’s win came ahead of Kurt Brady & Jon Mortimer, while in Sunday’s outing the pair reversed positions on the podium.

As is the norm, there were lots of titanic battles throughout the Caterham Supersport field as Lee Wiggins and Jeremy Webb continued their fight for the title. However, neither the Saturday or Sunday race went to script with Burnham’s Ian Payne upstaging the rivals with wins in both races. Reece Sommerfield got in on the act taking the runner-up spot both times which now makes it a three way fight with just seven points seperating the top three as they move to Silverstone for the final two rounds.

Formula Fordster John Loebell continued his fine run of form winning Saturday’s Pre-90 Northern Championship race and in doing so secured the Class C and Star of Anglesey titles. John decided to give the others a chance on Sunday and did not race. Kevin Donnelly took full advantage winning from John Farrell and Nigel Dolan.

As expected, Chris Middlehurst wrapped up the Post-89 title with two race wins, seeing off Abdul Ahmed and John Murphy on Saturday and Martin Short and Ahmed on Sunday.The St Helens teenager now heads to Brands Hatch in confident mood for the Formula Ford Festival on 15/16th October.

In the Formula Jedi Championship both Richard Mitcham and James Fletcher arrived at Anglesey level on points. There was nothing to choose between them on the track and they left still on equal points with a win and a second place a piece. The title will now be decided over the last two rounds at Silverstone next month.

There were three races for the S&G Response Ford XR Challenge. Mark Robinson took an enormous step towards the XR2 title winning two races and coming second in the third. This race was won by Ian Fletcher in a Class C ST, who wasn’t scoring points, thus giving Robinson the maximum haul. Jason Hennefer took a hat-trick of class wins in the XR3i category.

For the offficial results CLICK HERE


Race Entries
& Membership