It may only be a very short season, but the BRSCC Fiesta Championship racing with MRF Tyres looks as though it’s heading into the winter in a good place ahead of 2021. Croft in North Yorkshire plays host to the final three races of the year, a circuit which the championship hasn’t visited since 2017 and there’s a championship to decide as well as some more track time in store for the latest generation of Fiesta race car being developed for next season.


Heading to the final three races, on overall points it’s a tie between Samuel Watkins and Spencer Stevenson, the latter showing an impressive turn of pace and consistency in only his first season of racing with us. Watkins, meanwhile, has been around the block a few times and knows these cars intimately enough to extract the maximum performance from them. When you factor in the single dropped score, Watkins has a lead of 32 points, not needing to drop any points as his DNF from the first Cadwell Park race counts as his one score to dispose of. Stephenson, meanwhile, has 32 points to get rid of from the first Silverstone race and therefore will need to hope that fortunes swing in his favour in order to stand a chance of overhauling Watkins. Right now, however, it all seems to suggest that it’s Samuel’s title to lose.


JSCC convert Ethan Rogers is on the cusp of picking up a podium finish in the points on his first attempt in the Fiestas and the 20Ten Racing youngster has adapted to the car quickly. He came close to his first win at Silverstone while tailing his teammate Watkins and might have a chance to capture one himself at last this weekend. Outgoing Fiesta Junior champion Olly Turner is seven behind Rogers on dropped scores and just one ahead of Dominic Bush, meaning the battle the final podium spot could be pretty immense, and who knows – it may even be 2nd place up for grabs if Stevenson can’t keep pace with Watkins.


Samuel’s brother Joshua Watkins will be there to offer backup as a rear gunner in a bid to help him win the title, while the rest of the ST150 contenders include Rob Smith, Jamie Going, Rob Stevens and returnee from 2019 Gary Miller from Ireland. Specalized Motorsport boss Simon Horrobin is also on the entry list and he is usually quick any time he jumps into one his self-prepared cars.


Once again, the new turbo Fiesta ST180s are on the grid again with a quartet ready to race once more. Since Silverstone, the cars have been competing at Ford Power Live at Brands Hatch and in the Clubsport Trophy race at Donington Park, where new BTCC racer Jessica Hawkins picked up the win in a solo drive from the front row of the grid. John Cooper and David Nye are the usual suspects here, plus Zachary Lucas takes over the car that Paul O’Neill drove at Silverstone for his first taste of turbo power. And as if that wasn’t enough, another guest driver makes a special appearance as BTCC ace Josh Cook becomes the next star name to give the new car a try, to give his feedback and above all else to enjoy himself. He will also be out in the Clubsport Trophy race where he will be sharing the very same car he races here with fellow BTCC driver Jade Edwards.


Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership