Firstly, I speak for everyone when I say I would like to wish the Centre Chief Marshal & BRSCC director Peter Rodwell all the best for a speedy recovery after his trip to the Norwich & Norfolk University hospital on Sunday morning. All our thoughts are with Glynis and family at this worrying time.

It was a weekend of mixed fortunes for Gordon Sawyer who started the meeting as one of three drivers vying for the Drivers Republic Caterham Roadsport B title. Gordon duly won both races but had to settle for the runners-up position as Trevor Fowell took the title by one point under the dropped scores format, courtesy of two second place spots. Paul Brannan was third overall.

The first Avon Tyres Caterham Superlight R400 race was a close fought affair between Daniel Denis, Peter Ratcliff and Graham Tilley who took the chequered flag first. Sunday’s race was equally tight with a battle between Simon Young, Peter Ratcliff and Daniel Denis; with Denis who was already confirmed as this years champion taking the flag. Ratcliff and Young each shared second and third place finishes which was also the order they finished in the Championship.

The final race on Saturday was for the Power Torque Caterham Superlight R300’s and was won by Ollie Taylor and he repeated the trick on Sunday winning from Peter Young and James Sharrock. However, Jonathan Walker’s second place finish on Saturday afternoon meant he enjoyed the evening as R300 Champion. Sharrock was the overall runner-up with Matt Draper third.

Oliver Smith was also a double winner picking up back to back victories on his debut in the Drivers Republic Caterham Roadsport A Championship, as well as the East Anglian Centre’s Peter Swinger Trophy. However the glory went to Raphael Fiorentino who came out on top of the title battle with Mike Steadman by recording second and fourth place finishes. Raphael adds the Roadsport A crown to the B title he won last season. Graham Johnson came third in the final standings.

In a five way battle for the Formula Jedi title Richard Mitcham took the spoils with a victory on Saturday followed up with a third place on Sunday. 2008 champion Jack Smith returned a first and second place which was enough to lift him from fourth in the overall standings to runner up. Stuart Abbott finished the season third overall.

The Open Sports Car Series for the Archie Scott Brown Trophy was decided over an aggregate of two races and Tony Sinclair made it as simple as possible for the mathematicians winning both races in his Jade 3. Jon-Paul Ivey and Simon Tilling made up the podium places in Saturday’s race and Alan Hogg and Peter Hobday did likewise on Sunday.

The final race of the meeting in the LMA Euro Saloon & Sports Car Championship was won by the experienced Tony Soper in his striking LMA backed Harrier LR9, with Andy Harvey and Dave Cockell second and third respectively. Nick Hayes took the Class C title when his only rival, Kevin Wendt, failed to make the starting grid after problems in qualifying.

Sunday was an emotional day for the East Anglian Centre personnel as prior to the commencement of racing a minutes silence was observed to remember Tim Stock, our former Centre Chairman would died at his home in Spain on the 18th of October. Tim, from Ipswich, had formerly raced various formulae and also served as Chairman of the BRSCC until 2002. He will be sadly missed and we send our deepest condolences to Tim’s family at their loss.

The full meeting results can be found at Click Here

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership