Irishman Jonathan Browne became the latest name to be added to the roll of honour of the AIMSHOP.COM Formula Ford Festival after clinching a commanding victory in the final of the 2019 edition, the 48th running of the historic event.

After taking pole for his heat, winning the subsequent race and then going on to win his semi-final, Browne would start the Grand Final from pole position with fellow countryman and double Festival winner Niall Murray lining up alongside. Getting the jump on Murray, Browne led the opening lap before a safety car briefly disrupted events. Once racing was back underway, a great restart from Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Browne helped him build a small advantage over Murray. Despite closing the gap to less than a second, the pair were evenly matched in pace but in the end Browne had enough of a lead to remain untroubled to the flag.

Browne’s victory means he adds his name to the Neil Shanahan Trophy, 20 years after the accolade was first commissioned in honour of Jonathan’s fellow Irishman. That wasn’t the only prize he would receive as he was also provided with the prize from title sponsors AIM Technologies of AIMSHOP.COM, a SmartyCam GP HD onboard camera. Not only that, but he was also the best-placed teen driver (16-19 years old) he also won the British F4 Scholarship day prize, meaning he will join the rest of the drivers taking part next week at Silverstone, courtesy of Racingline and Fortec Motorsport.

Both Browne and Murray, along with Jordan Dempsey, helped the Republic of Ireland to clinch the World Cup while 3rd placed man Matthew Cowley, who won his heat on Saturday and fended off Michael Eastwell in the latter stages of the Final, picked up two perpetual awards in the John Nicol Trophy and Roger Pedrick Trophy, given to the best performing British and English driver in the Festival.

A full report from the weekend will be available via Colin Mann very shortly.

Scott Woodwiss



Race Entries
& Membership