The Ma5da MX5 Championship will bring their full grid to Mallory on Sunday. Photo: jon Elsey

The BRSCC Midland Centre is the busiest in the Club, evidenced again this weekend with two meetings they are working on. In addition to their involvement in running the two day F3/GT meeting at Rockingham, the Midland Centre is also putting on a full raceday at Mallory Park on Sunday.

Topping the bill at the Leicestershire circuit is the Ma5da MX5 Championship which provides 4 of the 10 races on the schedule. As has been the case at every round this year the championship will bring more than a full grid of cars to the meeting with 59 entries received. Defending Champion Tom Roach (1) will be out to chase more victories in his attempt to obtain back to back titles, however Jonathan Greensmith (2) and current leader Robert Boston (3) will be looking to go even better, but don’t discount seasoned drivers like Paul Sheard along with rookies, Adam Gore (10) and Matt Davies (90) who will be determined to clinch podium finishes.

Mallory Park also plays host to the BRS Recovery Ford XR Challenge and a special sponsor in the International Police Association (Leicestershire Branch), who will be presenting the John Gott Memorial Trophy to one deserving Ford XR driver. The class leader for Fiesta XR2 is Paul Bishop, who has a good points advantage over the next six who are separated by just 13 points. Simon Robinson heads this 'super six' on 60 points from Greg Speight, Steve Poole, Chris Ball, Simon Sheridan and Craig Readyhough. In the Escort XR3i class, Anglesey based John-Ifan Jones has a healthy lead from Mark Robinson, Marcus Riley, Terry Kellaher and Peter Futers.

The Dunlop TVR Challenge will start the second half of their season on Sunday. In Class A Hugh Marshall’s late withdrawral may leave the way open for rival Dean Cook to steal a march on him. Class B's Keith Vaughan Williams won last time out at Brands Hatch but will be challenged at Mallory by Leigh Jones' Tasmin which is certainly on the pace. John Simpson & Dave Chant seem intent on swapping places in every race in Class C but their on-going battle may give an opportunity to the likes of Billy Thompson and Dave Stewart.

The BRSCC Porsche championship also arrives at Mallory Park having reached the mid point in their season. In Class A at Anglesey Steve Brown became the 5th different winner in his 924. Regular front runners Adam Croft and Alistair Kirkham also finished on the podium with guest driver Richard Styrin achieving 2nd and 4th placed finishes in his first ever races in a 924. Alistair maintains his Championship lead and Steve moved into 2nd ahead of Andrew Hannington, who is a very close 3rd. The Boxsters are equally close. New entrant Gerry Taylor became the 4th different winner this season at Anglesey, whilst Dave Clark also scored a race win. ‘Mr Consistency’, Dave Hughes is Class leader, but with eight races still to go, can he hang on to his narrow lead? .

Guesting from the MG Car Club is the Cockshoot Cup which is a race championship for MG sports and saloon cars based around circuits in the North. The Cockshoot Cup is a solid silver trophy dating back to the nineteen thirties. After rounds at Oulton Park, Silverstone and Anglesey, David Coulthard (MGZR) is the championship leader and heads Class C. Only two points behind are Peter Bramble, Sean Peters and Ian Wright. Peter and Sean jointly lead Class B. Defending Champion Ian Wright is being pushed hard in Class A by Steve McKie, Graham Prosser and Jeremy Toes all racing Midgets.


Race Entries
& Membership