The best and brightest from both the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship and BRSCC Mazda MX-5 SuperCup were out in force to celebrate another superb year of racing at the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Night of Champions this past Saturday, held at the Radisson Blu Hotel near East Midlands Airport in Derby. Approximately 150+ guests were in attendance to see trophies handed out and accolades celebrated in fine fashion.

The AK Automotive team pose with their trophy winners Jack Harding (centre) and Garry Townsend (third from left)
– Photo: Jon Elsey

Will Blackwell-Chambers picked up his championship trophy for claiming the top spot in the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship, as did Joshua Jackson for his 3rd place finish. Runner-up Oliver Allwood was unable to attend on the night, so his AB Motorsport team boss Ali Bray picked up his silverware on his behalf. Mk1 Masters champion Martin Tolley was also there to claim his honours too, as did his main rival Paul Tucker, while Ben Short was there to collect the 3rd placed trophy for Simon Orange on his behalf.

In the MX-5 SuperCup awards, all of the top 3 finishers made it on stage with champion Luke Herbert collecting his trophy along with Tom Roche (2nd) and Jack Harding (3rd, pictured above). Masters champion Garry Townsend was also there the on the night (also pictured above), although both Harriet Sheard and Mike Comber would receive the 2nd and 3rd place awards on behalf of Alec Livesley and Simon Fleet respectively.

There were also additional Championship awards handed out, as Charlie Burge and Aidan Hills picked up the Rookie of the Year accolade for their respective championships, while Boreham Motorsport’s Ray Worley, a former 2-time SuperCup Masters champion, was named as this year’s Spirit of Mazda Award winner for his continued long-term support of the BRSCC’s Mazda MX-5 racing activities.

Interest in both the Mk1 Championship and SuperCup are high after record seasons in each, plus the additonal exciting news that the MX-5 SuperCup will be one of three official support series for the all-new BRSCC-run TCR UK Championship in 2018. With that said, it’s a good time to be in the BRSCC MX-5 paddock right now!


Race Entries
& Membership