John & Vanessa Franks with the Nigel Mansell Trophy, flanked by Drew Furlong (left) and Northern Centre Chairman, Graham S. Whitaker. Photo: Maureen Barnes

The BRSCC Northern Centre had their Awards Dinner recently at Artie’s Mill in Brigg, Lincolnshire, organised by Maureen Barnes and her team.

John & Vanessa Franks received the ‘Nigel Mansell Trophy’ as the ‘Persons of the Year’ for their support of the Centre over many years, John as Clerk of the Course and of late Chief Observer and Clerks support. Vanessa has been the Chief Startline marshal and more recently has assisted in Race Control, staffing the telephones.

There were also some special awards presented to all Crew members of the Centre Rescue Unit for their support after an expensive makeover. The makeover was an investment to ensure that the unit can continue to fulfil bookings, which is an important source of revenue for the Centre. Crew members present on the night were Martin Dwyer, Peter Broxup and Peter Howarth.

Sophie Devere-Williams received the British Racing News Trophy for the Marshal of the Year. Sophie is a relatively new marshal who attended one of her first meeting by being dropped-off at the circuit by her husband, without any knowledge of the requirements, including waterproofs, pack up, etc. Nevertheless, some of her fellow marshals were happy to help Sophie out and not deterred, she returned for more!

The Northern Centre will run its first meeting of the season at Cadwell Park on 22nd/23rd June


Race Entries
& Membership