The opening rounds of the 2021 Avon Tyres Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship get underway this Saturday at the magnificent Mallory Park circuit in Leicestershire for the first of four visits that will comprise the Star of Mallory contest for this season. Drivers compete across five classes covering a vast array of Kent-engined Formula Ford chassis from the most contemporary to classic and historic machinery.

The fastest cars will arguably be found in P Class for the Formula Fords from 1999 onwards, with three-time Formula Ford Festival winner Joey Foster leading the line in his 2021-spec Firman chassis. He’ll be joined by Jack Wolfenden’s 2017 Firman, Nigel Dolan’s Van Diemen and Ben Tinkler who samples a 2009 Ray chassis on this occasion. Super Classic A for cars built between 1990 and 1998 should be an exciting three-way dance between Chris Hodgen’s Swift, last year’s Super Classic B runner up Jonathan Barnes in his formidable Van Diemen RF90 and the Irish-built Mondiale M92S of Neil Hunt, while Super Classic B itself for cars from 1982 to 1989 sports the biggest entry of the five classes. Defending class and overall Super Classic champion Peter Daly, who is also chairman of the British Racing & Sports Car Club, looks set to have some stiff competition to kick off his title defence aboard his Van Diemen RF88, as Nick Barnes brings his 1989 Swift, Lorna Vickers in another 1988 Van Diemen and a pair of Reynard FF84s piloted by Edwin Hannah and the wonderfully named Juiceie Bruceie!

Super Classic C caters to cars aged between 1972 and 1981 and this is also set to be a closely fought contest too. There’s a wonderful spread of classic chassis here as Ben Hadfield puts his Van Diemen RF78 up against Jordan Harrison’s Lola T540E, the Merlyn Mk24 of Ian Wood, Mark Bates in an Alexis Mk15 and two PRS chassis in the hands of Colin Williams and Oliver Chapman. As for Super Classic D for the oldest cars in the entry aged 1971 or older, there’s more wonderful variety as renowned historic racer Simon Hadfield in a Hawk DL2B takes on a Titan Mk6 in the hands of Ian Fernihough. In all, no less than twelve different chassis constructors are represented here in what’s certain to be a thrilling season opener!

As an incentive, drivers competing at each Mallory Park round will have the chance to win a portion of a £2000 prize money pot for winning their class (subject to meeting a minimum number of starters per class respectively) and also the chance to win a random prize draw for a voucher to claim a free test day at Mallory Park too. With a solid grid of cars and drivers all set and in place to race this Saturday, it’s going be a fantastic start to the new BRSCC Formula Ford season!

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership