Tony Sinclair made it two OSS titles iin consecutive years. Photo: Carl Jones Photography.

The 2011 season was the second year of the BRSCC OSS as a fully-fledged championship, having started as a series in 2009. Forty-one competitors took part in the Championship in a wide variety of sports racing prototypes illustrating that the “open regulations” are working to attract cars out racing despite the harsh economic climate.

There was a sense of ‘déjà vu’ about 2011 as Tony Sinclair in the works Jade 3 repeated his winning ways taking the overall Championship and Class A titles despite strong competition from Graham Cole in his very quick Jade Trackstar. Engine problems for Graham meant he missed the last two meetings of the year, which cost him dearly in the points standing. Andy Kimpton’s Jade 3 came good at the end of the year despite mid-season problems to take third in the Championship and second in Class A.

The ‘déjà vu’ theme continued for Classes C, D, and E with the 2010 winners retaining their titles so congratulations to Class C winner Robin Brown (Radical Prosport) Class D winner Ake Bornebusch (Radical PR6) and Class E champion John Wilkes (Global GT). These guys will have to be on their mettle in 2012 as numbers and hence competition will grow in these classes.

The best-supported class was Class B, where Ginger Marshall in the unique Bowlby (designed by Ben Bowlby of Delta Wing Cars) improved on his second place of 2010 to lift the Class B spoils and second overall in the Championship with a very consistent performance. The Castle Combe bumps which did not suit the Bowlby or indeed Ginger prevented him wrapping up the Class B Championship at Combe.

Whilst the Class A cars provided the speed, the Class B guys provided the racing. Good close racing was seen at many rounds; the protagonists were Jonty Hair in the Mallock Beagle, Darcy Smith in a Nemesis, Altay Ali in a Radical PR6, and Simon Tate in his Nemesis based Zentura. However, Doug Hart who joined in for the last two meetings in his Chiron Hart was the man to beat.

The signs for 2012 are very promising and a major boost to grid numbers is expected which should bode well for a great season next year.

So to all competitors who took part in OSS in 2011 a big thank you to all of you! It is you guys who have made the Championship what it is and what it will become. Apologies to those not mentioned but your contribution to the success of OSS is just as important as the winners. So here is to 2012 and hope to see you all at the first round. Finally, a big thank you to Carl Jones our official photographer.



Alan Jenkins
Championship Co-ordinator


Race Entries
& Membership