So far, the new BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Clubman Championship has been a success with the one-day, two race format continuing to gain more and more fans and drivers as its popularity grows. The first three meetings have seen some great racing throughout and it’s crazy to think that the half way point in the inaugural championship season is already upon us, as Snetterton in Norfolk marks the next stop on the 2021 calendar.

For the first time this season, we now start to incorporate dropped scores, with the lowest two taken away for each driver. This begins to shake up the table a little bit, although one driver it doesn’t affect so much is leader Harry Storer, who has only been beaten once this year so far, but at the time of writing Harry is not set to compete as his name is not on the entry list, meaning we effectively look set to discover at least one new race winner in the championship.

Right now heading to Snetterton on dropped scores, Rob Greensmith is Harry’s closest rival heading to this Saturday’s races, currently 30 points behind with a best result of 2nd place in the very first race of the season at Croft. Since then, he hasn’t yet featured on the podium again, but has been on the grid in every race since and therefore has been able to carry on steadly banking healthy scores to keep him in contention. The same is also said about Dan Blake, whose 100% finishing record so far and best result of 4th place from Anglesey have proven his progress to date and how much he’s developed since the season began. Expect both to be pushing hard for more strong results.

Peter Higton and Kevin Bird are looking likely to be battling over best of the rest outside of the top three for the moment as they are just separated by a point for 4th place, with Richard Bartlett not too far behind only a further six back in 7th at this stage. Andrew Dean, Neil Chisnall and Dean Whiteman round off the top 10, with Andrew and Neil both to confirmed to be racing, while Dean will be on the sidelines once again on this occasion.

Alongside some of the other regular drivers appearing this season are a few new ones, some of whom are still familiar to BRSCC MX-5 racing fans, including Matthew Fletcher, Charles Medwin, Jamie Turner and Matthew Bankhurst, all looking to explore what the Clubman Championship has to offer on this occasion, along with Invitation class driver Richard Harwood.

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership