The Mighty Minis always entertain at Snett. Photo:

Our East Anglian Centre is ready for a scorching weekend at Snetterton where they are organising the BRSCC Saloon Car Festival, which will feature 20 races over the two days.

First out onto the 300 circuit are our guests from BARC South East – the Quaife Motorsports News Saloon Car & Cannons Motor Spares Tin Top championships, who between them have put in a fantastic entry of 40 cars. Rod Birley is the man to watch having won all eight races so far this season. However, the West Kingstown flyer is not leading the championship. That honour goes to Andy Woods-Dean who has a 100% record in Class E.

Glen Rossiter leads the Tin-Tops in his T3 class Renault Clio, but his lead is just a single point ahead of Pete Osborne, in an older Clio in Class TP. Therefore, this weekend’s double-header will go a long way to deciding who eventually takes the Tin-Tip title.

The Mighty Minis always put on a show at Snetterton where they have had some titanic battles over the years. This season should be no different with veteran Jonathan Lewis and newcomer Zack Booth locked in a battle for top spot. Damien Harrington has shown great consistency this year so he will be confident of getting amongst the leading pair.

There is an equally tight battle raging in the Super Mighty Minis where Jamie White arrives in Norfolk as the championship leader. However, Bob Bennetts has rolled back the years to pose a real threat to White and Leeds’ Pat Ford is also very much in contention.

Paul Rose, racing a Saker Sportscar, has established a very healthy lead in the Arrowpak Euro Saloon & Sports Car Championship. His closest rival is Class C’s Chris Whitely who will be aiming to cut the points gap in his Seat Leon. The grid for both the Arrowpak Euro Saloons races will be bolstered by entries for the 4two cup.

The Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship will be racing on the 300 circuit for the third time since it was reconfigured two years ago. Local driver Anthony George, from Diss, is one of the favourites to take outright victory, as is Bryan Shrubb. However, there is a ‘dark horse’ in the pack – Herbert Bürgmayr is bringing his 3 litre 75 all the way from Munich, so it will be interesting to see how the Bavarian performs. Herbert will certainly be assured of a warm welcome in the paddock. The 4two cup will join the Alfas in their race on Sunday.

The top ten drivers in the BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship are all making their way to Snett for this weekend’s double-header. With Tom Roche’s lead now cut to just 22 points, we can expect a great battle as the Cardiff based driver tries to reassert his authority, while Brett Smith, James Blake-Baldwin and Alex Preston will all try to turn the screw further.

Blake-Baldwin will be hoping to follow up his brace of wins at Cadwell last month, where he certainly gave Roche something to think about. Although Roche quickly responded by winning race two, Brett Smith managed to edge him out to third in the final race to boost his own title claim and the Wellingborough driver must now be considered a genuine title contender.

James ‘JJ’ Ross is on course to claim the Vortex Motorsport News Ford Fiesta Junior title. The Watford teenager, who is run by Daniels Motorsport, has won six of the eight races so far, so another brace of victories will go a long way to securing the title. However, the likes of Rory Collingbourne and Robert Cox are improving all the time so they will be determined not to let Ross have it all his own way.

In the senior Fiesta Championship, which is also backed by Vortex, Ian Scruton, Andrew Mollison and David Abbott are the respective leaders of classes A, B & D. All three are on duty this weekend for the double –header. As ever there is a very impressive field of 28 ST’s entered in Class C, including youngster Alfonso Skriczka who makes the step-up from Juniors. Nicholas Bowers is the current Class C leader.

Another Quaife Engineering supported BARC SE championship is also on the schedule. The Intermarque Championship, which is also backed by Avon Tyres, has two fifteen minute races. Chris Brockhurst and Matt Simpson, both at the wheel of a Vauxhall Tigra, are the main protagonists, but expect Keith White to also challenge in his BMW Z4.

For the entry lists, Final Instructions and timetable visit SALOON FESTIVAL


Race Entries
& Membership