Chorley's Chris Hodgen is chasing three Pre 90 wins in a row. Photo:

Motorsport this weekend isn’t just about the British F1 Grand Prix at Silverstone! The BRSCC North Western Centre is running what promises to be just as an exciting meeting at Oulton Park tomorrow, with a great mixture of single-seaters, tin-tops and sportscars. Eight 20 minutes races are scheduled after the morning qualifying sessions.

The Dunlop TVR Challenge is the first up at what is effectively the ‘home’ circuit for the former Blackpool marque. It is also familiar ground for Preston’s Danny Winstanley and he will be hoping the heating problems that afflicted his Sagaris at Silverstone have been cured. Cuddington’s Ivor Watson will also be aiming to impress the local crowd and his company Tyre Plus are sponsoring the TVR race.

The Formula Jedis arrive at Oulton with Runcorn’s Lee Morgan currently the man to beat. Four wins from four races has given Morgan a great start to the season and a very healthy lead in the points table. However, Dan Clowes, Andrew Dunn and current champion Richard Mitcham will be out to remind Morgan that he needn’t be ordering the silver polish just yet!

The Avon Tyres backed Northern Formula Fords are back at Oulton Park for round six of the fourteen round championship. We have an excellent Pre-90 race in prospect with a grid of 23 cars lining up. There’s sure to be entertainment aplenty throughout the field, with strong representation in all three classes. Chris Hodgen will no doubt be looking to make it three wins on the bounce, but will face stiff competition from the likes of Jaap Blijleven, Wayne Poole, Chris Stones, Andrew Thomas and Jamie Jardine.

In the Post 89 category, Doug Crosbie, who won last time out at Oulton is absent as are the McArthur clan so that should leave the way clear for the likes Martin Short, Stuart Jones and Ian Parkington to contest for honours. It will also be interesting to see how Graham Beatty, Kevin O’Hara and Jake Byrne fare. The trio are making the trip across the Irish Sea for the meeting.

Paul Rose is the current leader in the Arrowpak Euro Saloons & Sports Car Championship. The Saker pilot has accrued 100 points in Class A so far and leads from Peter Challis and Chris Whiteley, the Class C driver having scored 56 points at wheel of his 1.8-litre Seat Leon.

The entry lists and Final Instructions can be viewed at—BRSCC-RACEDAY-06-07-87


Race Entries
& Membership