The Welsh coast will be alive to the sound of race cars once again as the BRSCC North Western Centre makes another trip on to the isle of Anglesey in North Wales for another two-day race weekend that’s sure to entertain from start to finish. With a diverse mix of saloons, single seaters and sportscars on the timetable, there’s sure to be something to satisfy any racing fan’s tastes.

Once again, the largest entry of the weekend will come from the Mazda MX-5 Championship, who are only two weeks removed from their previous rounds at a wet Silverstone. On that weekend, title contenders Will Blackwell-Chambers and Samuel Smith shared the wins between them, with Smith taking two to cement his 2nd place in the standings. Brian Trott picked up three strong podium finishes and two fastest laps to keep himself in contention, while John Langridge also scored two for himself too. Expect all four to be competing for the win once again, along with Oliver Allwood who was forced out of the last race due to mechanical problems. Other drivers who will be threat include Martin Tolley, Stephen Foden, Mike Comber, Teddy Clark, Adam Bessell, Clive Powles and Jack Brewer.

The biggest grid to date in the Mazda MX-5 Super Series was also present at Silverstone, with three different winners from all three races. Jake Bailey, Ben Short and Joshua Jackson all took home a winner’s trophy each whilst constantly dicing amongst each other lap after lap in the process. The series which accommodates identical cars to those in the MX-5 SuperCup in a low-pressure racing environment really helps drivers get to grips with them at their own pace. Also back in the driving seat for another weekend of track action will be Sam Bailey, Patrick Collins, Russ Lindsay, Jeremy Crook and Matt Pickford, while Silverstone debutant Joseph Marshall-Birks has decided he liked his first go in a Mk3 so much, he’d have another one!

The main mission for all competing in the Toyo Tires Porsche Championship will be to do their best to put a halt on the almost runaway dominance of Adam Southgate, who has ended up winning all but two of the races run so far. The Race Boxster class dominator will once again have strict competition from James Coleman, Kevin Molyneaux and Nick Hull, who should be back out again after his awful accident last time out at Castle Combe. Leigh Bowden once again holds the fort for the Production Boxsters, while the 924 Class title race is become a two-horse affair between Gavin Johnson and Hugh Peart. Both have taken multiple class wins so far this year and as the pendulum keeps swinging either way with every passing meeting, there’s no definitive answer emerging as to who will triumph this weekend and indeed this season.

The Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Championship will be hoping for much better weather conditions this time, after their away rounds at Silverstone two weeks ago were something in terms of a washout with constant rain during both races. While a number of National competitors took to the track last time, this weekend it’s back to the locals to dominate the entry. Andrew Thomas had a nightmare weekend and wasn’t able to subsidize his Post 89 championship lead after retiring early in Race 1. He will look to bounce back on this occasion, but his fiercest competition looks set to come from Ireland’s Jake Byrne. As for the Pre 90 contenders, the main names to watch out for here are certainly going to be Jaap Blijleven, former champ Jamie Jardine, Mario Sarchet and Scott Rawlinson.

A boosted entry descends on Anglesey for the Kerax Hyperdrive ST-XR Challenge as the championship begins to power towards the sharp end of the season. The fight for the XR2 title appears to be narrowing down to Justin Roberts and Steve Poole battling it out between each other, although Mike Heath, Alistair May and Lee Shropshire aren’t too far away either. Lee Bowron heads up the XR3i contest ahead of Mike Blackburn, and Lee will have support from siblings Ryan and Lewis Bowron in a bid to help strengthen his chances of taking the crown. Christopher Rowlands brings out the new Class D Fiesta ST to play once again, while it’ll be Tony Mumford and Andy Mellor representing Class E in their pair of XR2s that run without limited slip differentials. With one of their best supported entries of the season and Anglesey being a circuit that regularly tends to provide fantastic ST-XRs races, expect this weekend’s encounters to be no different.

Coming along for the ride on this occasion will be the MG Car Club’s Cockshoot Cup, allowing a wide variety of models from one of the UK’s best loved marques the chance to compete on track with each other, regardless of the car’s age. Ian Wright will lead the line for Class A in his MG Midget, while the battle at the top of Class B looks intense with Mark Bellamy, Colin Stubbs, Mike Peters and Julia Penfold all in the mix for the title. Ray Collier leads Class C, but it sure to have some stiff competition including David Coulthard (not that one!), and Class F will be a duel between Christopher Greenbank and Brian Butler. Expect an array of MG ZRs, ZSs, Midgets and MGF peppered among the grid this weekend.

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership