Fresh from their adventures competing at their two most regular venues, Oulton Park and Anglesey, the Avon Tyres Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship makes a return to the speedbowl that is Mallory Park in Leicestershire for its third appearance of the season, as the Star of Mallory contest continues with more cash and testing voucher prizes on offers for the lucky winners.

All five classes are being represented here with a competitive entry in each setting the scene for what should be a fantastic day’s single seater racing. The previous two meetings in May both offered memorable moments and since then the respective rounds and Oulton Park and Anglesey have helped to shake up the points as the drivers head back to Leicestershire.

The P Class for the most modern Formula Ford chassis on the grid built between 1999 and the present day will see key rivals Jack Wolfenden and Nigel Dolan go head-to-head for only the third time this year. The pair have met on track at both the opening Mallory races and at Oulton, whilst also missing a weekend each, and now the pair are separated by 26 points before dropped scores but are now prepared to face stiff competition. This comes in the form of David McArthur, James Hadfield and National Formula Ford rookie Benjamin Cochran, all hoping to come away from Mallory with a result.

Paul Mason currently holds all the cards in Super Classic A and will be hoping to not just hold on to his advantage but to also extend it further, with a lead of almost 60 points. With the nearest rival in attendance being Neil Hunt’s Mondiale down in 5th in class at this stage, Mason looks set to extend that lead further this weekend.

Super Classic B will once again be the most populated out of the five competing with seven cars ready to line up. It looks set to be a duel between Nick Barnes and “Juiceie Bruceie” for the honours this year as Nick leads Bruceie by just eight points with the pair ready to lock horns once more. Richard Ketterman, Edwin Hannah and Leanne McShane will all give chase, as will defending class champion Peter Daly, the BRSCC chairman once again competing on his local circuit.

It’s effectively certain that Super Classic C will gain a new points leader come the end of the day, as none of the current top three drivers are present on the entry list. Highest placed attendee is Ben Hadfield in 4th, along with 5th placed man Stuart Kestenbaum and Alan Fincham down in 8th. Expect all three to make big gains and really shake up the order.

The same can’t quite be said for Super Classic D however, as despite Ian Fernihough also not set to compete on Sunday, his current lead of almost 100 points over second place can’t be surpassed. Even if the Hawke of Simon Hadfield were to win both races with pole and both fastest laps, the most he will do is extend his gap over the rest of the pack, and to do that he’ll have to beat both Mark Bates and Samuel Harrison in the process.

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership