W Series was the headline recipient of the special awards at this past weekend’s BRSCC Championship Awards, as they were named as the latest winners of the coveted BRSCC John Nicol Trophy, awarded to the individual or organization making the greatest contribution towards the furtherance of motorsport in 2019.

In a speech to announce the winner, BRSCC chairman Peter Daly said “The BRSCC is proud to represent them as their organizing club, and we’re very much looking forward to the 2020 season which will include among the new drivers racing this year, our very own 2014 Mazda MX-5 SuperCup champion Abbie Eaton. Thanks to the guidance and vision of Catherine Bond Muir, Matt Bishop, Dave Ryan, and David Coulthard among others, it now provides a stage for some of the best female driving talents in motorsport to showcase their skills, and to hopefully help them one day reach the promised land of Formula 1.”

The inaugural W Series saw six exceptional races held on some of Europe’s finest circuits as part of the DTM support package, and will be supporting them once again in 2020 as well as making visits to Mexico and the USA to join the Formula 1 paddock for two weekends. This will give all of this season’s drivers a fantastic chance to showcase their skills in front of some of the most important names and faces in motorsport, all whilst battling for the title.

W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir was in attendance to receive the trophy on behalf of the championship and was also joined in Stratford-upon-Avon by Alice Powell, who had finished 3rd in the final championship standings along with winning the final race of the year at Brands Hatch.

They weren’t the only ones to be specially commended on the night, as British F4 coordinator Eve Lake-Grange was chosen as the worthy recipient of the Henry Ford Trophy for 2019, after she battled through the year with a serious illness whilst still performing her role as championship coordinator superbly. Peter Daly spoke of her dedication and determination, saying “While the road ahead was going to be tough, the love and support of her racing driver husband Jake, her two sons, her family and all of her friends and colleagues helped her push through her treatment. Through it all, she has soldiered on in her championship coordinator role, ably supported by her teammates Jess and Flo and is set to spearhead another superb season in 2020 as a crucial part of the Racingline team. A quote from her team’s social media sums up just how valuable she is – “Without her, there would be no British F4”.”

Matt Greenwood, a long-standing marshal, rescue unit chief and member of the BRSCC Midlands Centre was chosen as the 2019 recipient of the Bert Lamkin Memorial Salver, awarded annually to the Club member that has done the most to publically promote the name and interests of the club throughout 2019. Peter Daly praised his efforts, saying “He is a dedicated, committed and reliable volunteer in motorsport as well as a loyal club member and a true fan of the sport, and is someone who deserves this accolade no end for all of his efforts over the years.”

Plus, there was one final special recognition, as former Competitions Director Dominic Ostrowski was also commended for his 25+ years of service to the Club after he stepped down from his role in November 2019.


Race Entries
& Membership