The XR Challenge continues to keep the much loved XR2 Fiestas and XR3i Escorts in service – Photo: Ken Mellor

It's back to the track for the Lee Bowron Ltd XR Challenge, which has had two months’ layoff and therefore lots of time to prepare for a good days racing on the Oulton Park International circuit.

In the XR2 Class, and in fact overall, last year's and present champion Mike Heath is again leading the field. He had a bad start at the last meeting and ended up changing his engine, however he did manage the feat in a phenomenal two hours! Not only that but he also went out and won the last race. We should point out that the other teams helped with the change and this is part of the character of the XR Challenge. It makes the job of co-ordinating worthwhile to Dave Fairclough and Ken Mellor.

Close on Mike’s heels were Alistair May, Lee Shropshire, Steve Poole and Greg Speight. Be sure to check out the website at xrchallenge.com where you can see the points table and who has played their Joker (a nominated race in which the driver scores double points). At the last meeting Mark Buxton burst through to contend for a podium. Where did that come from Mark? Just waiting for the right package to drive? This is certainly the championship to watch as the drivers come from “too young to drink” to the “care homes”.

Then we have the XR3i brigade, a little more powerful but also a bit heavier, and not quite so nimble. Here we find Mike Taylor being chased by both Ryan Bowron and Adam Burgess. Series Sponsor Lee Bowron seems to be shaking off his engine gremlins and beginning to burning the rubber. He hopes to make a late run up the board and chase down the leading contenders.

We have had good grids this year with very close, but clean racing. Even the marshals watch the XRs when they grace the circuit. Enjoy watching and if you would like to join them, then just get in touch. In addition, the meeting today also sees us as hosts to the Scottish Fiesta STs and XRs. They run their own championship and will set off ten seconds after the regular BRSCC field.


Race Entries
& Membership